TAG Heuer is an official founding partner and the official timekeeper of the world’s first fully electric automobile racing series. The “FIA Formula E Championship” is officially sanctioned by the Federation Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA), the same group which sanctions “Formula One” (for which Rolex is the official timekeeper).

TAG Heuer & Formula E press conference in Beijing – August 31, 2014

According to the Official FIA Formula E, “It represents a vision for the future of the motor industry over the coming decades, serving as a framework for R&D around the electric vehicle, accelerating general interest in these cars and promoting sustainability.”

Formula E in London

The inaugural Formula E race will take place in Beijing on September 13th. The season will consist of 10 total races, with feature 10 professional teams, and 20 recognized drivers. Races will take place in major cities such as Los Angeles, Miami, Buenos Aires, London, Berlin and Monaco.

Formula E driver Lucas di Grassi

According to TAG Heuer, “An intense passion for cars and racing has fuelled our technical innovation and performance since the earliest days of the brand. We patented the first dashboard chronograph in 1911, pioneered driver ambassadorship with Jo Siffert in 1969, signed on as the first ‘“non-technical” partner of a Formula One team with Ferrari in the 70s, and continued that tradition with McLaren and its drivers from 1985, Indy 500 and Monaco Grand Prix today. With this new partnership, TAG Heuer is writing a new page of its motor racing history” said Benoît Toulin, Head of TAG Heuer Great China.”

Posted by:Jason Pitsch

Jason is the founder of Professional Watches and specializes in writing, product photography, and digital marketing.